Having Fun Through Learning


It’s been a while since my last post here on this blog. However, I decided to write and to share with you an amazing experience of mine. On June 16th and 17th I attended the 4th International TETA Conference. It  is a conference where teachers from all over the world (basically) gather to teach and to have fun through learning.

Since I’m a second year student at English Department in Bihać I had a chance to apply as a student helper for this conference in Bosanska Krupa. I’d never been to this beautiful little city in Bosnia and Herzegovina before so I was excited about that, too. When we came there and when the registration hours began, I already knew that I didn’t make a mistake applying for the conference despite having exams the next week.

The more people came to the registration desk, the more excited I became. TETA Conference has been a great opportunity to meet many different people with similar goals. How to change the way you work with your students ? How could students get more involved in class ? And in the end, how to have fun during the classes and to learn more ?

All of these questions were answered by numbers of workshops and versatile themes. My job of being a student helper was mostly to help people and register them, but also I attended to few workshops. And they were great! I loved how many teachers use music to associate their students with particular subjects and themes. I also loved how one of the teachers – Mark Andrews used people’s birthday dates to connect them with ideas about the world and space around us. And I’m like obsessed with dates (I easily remember them).

This Conference has been an awesome experience and the opportunity to have fun through learning. And also to get some ideas how to teach the change we want to see in the world – what was actually its motto.

Thanks to all those wonderful people who decided to visit and take a part in this conference. I’m really honoured and delighted that I had a chance to meet all of them, too bad I didn’t have a lot of time to talk to every one of them individually. Hopefully, there’ll be chance to see them again.

Stay happy, folks.

Teach the change you want to see in the world!

Leave a Reply

